top of page

Parliamentary committee to monitor progress of investigations into MPs murdered during Rajapakse era


With a view to investigating the murders of M.P.s under the brutal ,cruel, murderous reign of Rajapakse , a parliamentary committee is to be appointed , prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has decided.

The main objective of  this committee appointed under the Parliamentary powers and privileges Act will be to monitor  the progress in regard to the investigations. Police officers who conducted investigations and are investigating these crimes are to be called before this committee , it has been decided.

This committee will be probing into the murders of the MPs (who died while  holding parliamentary seats) , T.Maheshwaran , Nadaraja Raviraj, Joseph Pararajasingham , D.M. Dassanayake and Jeyaraj Fernandopulle .

bottom of page